Legacy (Class of 25 & 26)

The legacy UPSOM curriculum was implemented in 2004 and features active, participatory learning, a problem-based approach, an early introduction to the patient and the community, and the integration of a rigorous foundation in basic and clinical biomedical sciences with the social and behavioral aspects of medicine.


General overview for Fourth Year students.

Curriculum Blocks

There are five main blocks embedded in our curriculum that offer a variety of learning experiences for students.

Areas of Concentration (AOCs)

Area of concentration programs provide an opportunity for students to pursue in depth an area of personal interest during their four years of medical school. 

Professional Enrichment Courses (PECs)

Professional Enrichment Course provides well-structured, rigorous and high quality experiences in areas not typically available to students.