Distinguished Service in Medical Education Award

This award is the highest honor in medical education given by the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. The award is not given annually; rather, it is bestowed on special occasions as warranted.

Achievements of individuals receiving this award will include but are not limited to:

  1. Five or more years of medical education service at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
  2. Authorship of publications related to the curriculum (peer-reviewed articles, textbooks, monographs, and others)
  3. Teaching in more than one course or clerkship
  4. Significant administrative responsibilities that extend beyond a single course or clerkship.

Honorees are selected by the Curriculum Committee Executive Subcommittee and the Dean. When presented, the award is given at the Annual Curriculum Colloquium.

Honorees are:

  • 2021
    Jack Schumann, PhD

  • 2020
    Melissa A. McNeil, MD, MPH

  • 2019
    Jeannette South-Paul, MD

  • 2015
    Hollis D. Day, MD
    Rosanne Granieri, MD

  • 2013
    Allen L. Humphrey, PhD
    Thomas A. Medsger, MD

  • 2012
    Kathleen D. Ryan, PhD

  • 2002
    Steven L. Kanter, MD

  • 1998
    Sheldon Adler, MD
    Carole Coffee, PhD