Performance-Based Assessment Subcommittee

The Performance-Based Assessment Subcommittee focuses attention on the various skills-based assessments throughout the curriculum.

There are two primary areas of responsibility. The first is oversight of all of the performance-based assessments, such as OSCEs, that are embedded within courses and clerkships. A second is development and oversight of the Clinical Competency Assessment, the fourth year standardized patient-based OSCE that provides vital formative information about students’ skills after they have completed the clerkship curriculum.

This subcommittee is led by an appointed chair.  Members include Curriculum Committee members and other experienced clinical educators from across the curriculum. Current membership is five to seven members. 

Performance-Based Assessment Subcommittee Mandate


Reed Van Deusen, MD

Medical Director, Standardized Patient Program 

Amar Kohli, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

Andrew Levin, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology

Michael Elnicki, MD
Professor of Medicine

Rebecca Waltner-Toews, MD
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences

Scott Herrle, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Medicine 

Pushpa Viswanathan, MD
Associate Professor of Endocrinology and Diabetes

Kristen Ehrenberger, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine